​​Beaverton Special Events

What is this Reward All About?

​The Awards Committee is a standing committee of Beaverton Special Events. A subcommittee of that is the Harold Lodwick Citizenship Award subcommittee. Its membership is comprised of six volunteers: two from Beaverton Special Events Board of Directors, two from the Lodwick family and two from Beaverton Special Events Membership. The main purpose of this subcommittee is to administer the Harold Lodwick Citizenship Award.

​This award was initiated to recognize the outstanding contributions of Harold Lodwick to the community.

​Nominations may be made at any time during the year by written submission, but must be received no later than June 1 of that year. All nominees and nominators names are kept confidential and only the award winner will be announced at the Canada Day Celebrations on July 1.

​Nominees do not have to be a current member of any organizations, but they should have been involved in numerous events, groups and committees over the years.

​The winner of the award, known as the benefactor, will be notified and given an opportunity to decide which charitable organization they would like the funds to go to before the award is presented.

​The winner could also ask Beaverton Special Events to undertake a project on the winner's behalf.

​Qualified recipients of the funds will include any recognized local registered charitable community organization, religious group or a chapter of any provincial or national organization that has a local membership (with such registration to be pursuant to the Income Act of Canada).

​Funds must be used for a capital expense or a new project with respect to the provision of public amenities to benefit the Beaverton, Ontario community. The allocation of these funds will be directed by the Harold Lodwick Citizenship Award subcommittee and administered and controlled by the Beaverton Special Events Board of Directors.

​We are especially proud of the outcome of the award projects to date and the efforts that the community has put into supporting this award, ultimately honouring its citizens in memory of Harold Lodwick. Donations of the prize money have gone to support the local community at large.

​Past winners of the award include:

2009  Jack Little for playground equipment  at the Lions Centennial Park

2010  Dorothy Macpherson   The Cenotaph Restoration Project

2011 Norma Green    for The Beaverton Christmas Wish Foundation

2012  Randy Skinner  for The Lions Splash Pad

2013 Tom Mangan for 3 projects (new chairs for St. Joseph's, a dishwasher for St. Andrew's and  project for the Beaverton Agricultural Society).

2014  Chuck Gillespie for The Beaverton Library and The Lions Club

2015 Terry Clayton for the Lions' Accessible pathway from Lakeview Manor to the harbour

​2016 Eleanor Parliament for the Beaverton Thorah Eldon Historical Society

​2017 John Lambert for the Beaverton Lions Club walking trail project at the fairgrounds

2018 Jeanette Tierney for the Beaverton Town Hall Players

​Donations to this fund are always appreciated and can be made out to Beaverton Special Events, PO Box 125 Beaverton, On L0K 1A0. Official tax receipts will be issued as this subcommittee is a part of the registered charity of Beaverton Special Events

The Rest of the Story

Harold Lodwick Citizenship Award